Author Topic: August 2004 - JR Friesen  (Read 3506 times)

ColoradoB5

• Global Moderator
  • Supercar
August 2004 - JR Friesen
« on: August 02, 2004, 02:31:12 PM »
I never really had a love for cars. Not like my dad and my younger sister. I thought cars were cool, especially if they were fast, but that was about it. Growing up, the garage almost always had a Euro in it and my dad’s hand with a wrench in it. I was constantly asked, much to my chagrin, to help with a starter here, a water pump there, “Give me a quarter inch socket will ya?” I hated working on cars.

I liked riding in them though. Getting slammed back in my seat by the 944’s 250 ft/lbs of turbo'd torque or flying down the interstate at 120+ in the Mercedes were always the highlights of my otherwise mostly eventful life, until I graduated from the passenger seat. Then came the Fox.

I was 17, been driving for about 3 years and it was my second, but first REAL car. My dad found it for 12 Franklins. I paid half, he paid half. He was really proud of that car. I wasn’t, at least, not at first. It was the worst color in my opinion: Brown. That nasty, California-banned brown. The dirty, sun-faded brown that only cars come in. But hey, it was my car so it was cool. It was….VW. A 4-door, 1988 Volkswagen Fox.

I could fit my bass rig (I was touring at the time), my tech (younger brother), me and our luggage in that car and still do 120mph down a hill. She had a CD adapter, stickers on her windows and custom seat covers. She went with me all over the state of New Mexico. A year and a half, thousands of miles of high desert, no speeding tickets, and my first enjoyable wrenching job (muffler), I drove around that state, just bonding with my car. Then, I left for school.