Author Topic: Convince me not to get an A3!  (Read 11051 times)

BHase

• Modded
Convince me not to get an A3!
« Reply #60 on: July 14, 2005, 01:56:39 PM »
Okay, that black TT is hot as hell. I want one.

Ben
I'm not an expert in any field but drinking beer and breaking stuff so don't take my response as the best foundation for a conversation." - Jay

aowhaus

• Heavily Modded
Just test drove a DSG w/sport pkg.
« Reply #61 on: July 16, 2005, 09:30:41 PM »
Got a call yesterday that got two more in, a black one with the sport package and a dark blue one with the luxury package (both DSG).

Looking at both of them, the darker color is not as flattering to the car's shape and size as the lighter or brighter colors.  But anyways, I was there for the test drive and it exceeded my expectations.

The DSG tranny is truely amazing, quick and seemless shifts and matches with the 2.0T engine perfectly.  There is virtually no turbo lag, and the dealer let me do some sprints and spirited driving through some twisty roads through an industrial park (too much fun!).
At first I was shifting with the shifter, but the dealer reminded me of the paddles behind the steering wheel.  The paddles were great and very easy to use.  In automatic mode, there is a sport setting which felt fast and aggressive if you want to give your fingers a rest.

I really like the sport package.  The stiffer suspension felt just right in turns and had just enough feel for the road.  The slightly lower stance along with the roof spoiler looks nicer than the one with the luxury package.  The sport package also featured aluminum trim including cast aluminum shift paddles which felt solid and had a nice slightly dampered clicking sensation to it (the paddles are black plastic on the luxury package).  The black leather interior has nicely detailed white stiching, while the beige leather of the luxury package looks bland.