Author Topic: Another thread on dream cars....  (Read 1276 times)

92UrS4

• Administrator
  • Supercar
    • Rocky Mountain Club B5
Another thread on dream cars....
« on: January 28, 2006, 12:33:41 AM »
sort of.

So the excitement of last few days has sparked a sort of come to Jesus about cars and life.

We sat and looked at this $20K, 20 year old vehicle and thought about the pros and cons and of course tried to determine "how good" the vehicle really is. I have no experience with grey market vehicles and after doing just a little research I realized it was probably going to be a leap I didn't want to take.

So in having the flu or whatever it is I had this week I have spent time thinking about what it is I would really want in a car.

I love my Passat, but I must say I don't have a smile on my face every time I know I am getting in it. It doesn't mean it's a bad car, or no fun to drive, but maybe it isn't the perfect car for me.

I still have a lot of life to live...I hope, so there is always teh argument that I can get what I want later in life. At the same time I know that I could get what I want now, used, older or whatnot, and probably be very happy.

So now I think, I need to spend however much time it takes finding the car. Is it a BMW, a Mercedes, a Porsche, an Audi or VW? Is it a GM, a Chrysker a Ford?

All I know is I think if I keep the goal for $20K or less I can still find something that is me. I hate the thought of having to sell the Passat because it is so new, but I figure I wont know the car right away and enough time should lapse that it should make the sale of the Passat easier. Unless of course I find someone wanting to assume the lease ;)

I think I was so frustrated last year in my search for a car and looking at a lower price I couldn't find that happy ground.

So now the question is, practicality aside, what would you get?