Author Topic: MAF Appetite  (Read 2288 times)

LilGTI

• n00balicious
    • Labout Racing
MAF Appetite
« on: September 14, 2008, 07:21:05 PM »
Hi All,

I've been gone for a LONG time (life's been in the way) but I'm hoping to pick some brains for a puzzeling problem with my '00 GTI VR6. This week my car, with only 68,006 miles on it, will be returning to the dealership for it's 4th MAFS in 18 months. The last one was replaced less than 2,000 miles ago in late June. The interval of MAFS failures is getting more frequent in duration and mileage. I don't drive my car daily as I'm a student at Metro and take Light Rail. There are times my car can go over a week without being driven.

The last MAFS replacement was accompanied by a MAFS wiring harness replacement which I was promised would cure her appetite for MAFS. Obviously it didn't do anything but put a dent in my wallet to the tune of $284. The service manager discussed involving VW of NA if one more MAF fails - we're there so I hope he's true to his word.

My question is, has anyone else seen a car with this kind of appetite for MAFS and if so, is there a solution for the problem?  :( I graduate in December and will need my car daily and can't really depend on a car with this kind of issue. I want to keep it until VW of NA pulls their head out of their nether regions and produces an R32 with a manual gearbox again, which could be awhile.

Thanks in advance,
« Last Edit: September 14, 2008, 10:41:11 PM by LilGTI »
~Trish
www.LaboutRacing.com
'00 GTI VR6
'65 Porsche 911
'64 Autodynamics Formula Vee
'98 Ford Ranger

03Indigo

• Global Moderator
  • Supercar
Re: MAF Appetite
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 08:59:32 PM »
Do you have an aftermarket intake or filter on the car?  Oil from those filters can cause MAF failure.